Major League Baseball (MLB) is a professional baseball league and one of the oldest major sports leagues in the United States and Canada. Established in 1869, MLB consists of 30 teams, divided into two leagues: the National League (NL) and the American League (AL). The regular season typically runs from April to September, with each team playing 162 games. The top teams from each league advance to the playoffs, leading to the World Series in October, where the champions of the NL and AL compete for the title. MLB is renowned for its rich history, traditions, and the timeless appeal of the national pastime, baseball.