The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in North America, widely considered to be the premier men's professional basketball league in the world. Founded on June 6, 1946, the NBA consists of 30 teams, with 29 located in the United States and one in Canada. The league's regular season runs from October to April, followed by the NBA Playoffs and the NBA Finals in June. The NBA showcases top-tier basketball talent, featuring some of the world's most skilled and iconic athletes.