La Liga, officially known as the Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División, is the top professional football league in Spain and one of the most prestigious football leagues in the world. Founded in 1929, La Liga consists of 20 teams that compete annually for the league title. The season typically runs from August to May, with each team playing 38 matches. Known for its technical and skillful style of play, La Liga has produced some of the greatest football talents and iconic clubs. The league concludes with the crowning of the La Liga champion, and the bottom teams may face relegation to the Segunda División.